There are 43 Stakeholders. The group comprises 35 national organisations with a rural interest and 8 individuals who were previously were involved with the Commission for Rural Communities

The Stakeholder Group comprise:

acre-re-web-stakeholder-thumbnailACRERichard Quallington (Acting Chief Executive)
Age UK LLL LogoAge UK
Arthur Rank Centre Jerry Marshall, (C.E.O)
big-lottery-re-thumbnailBig Lottery FundJonathan Clark
british-youth-council-thumbnailBritish Youth CouncilJames Cathcart (Chief Executive)
countryside-alliance-thumbnail-reCountryside AllianceSarah Lee (Head Of Policy)
CalorPaul Blacklock, (Head of Strategy and Corporate Affairs)
ccri-thumbnailCCRIProfessor Janet Dwyer (University Of Gloucestershire)
cla-thumbnailCountry Land & Business AssociationChristopher Price (Policy Director)
cpre-thumbnailCampaign For the Protection of Rural EnglandErica Popplewell and Belinda Gordon
cpag-thumbnailChild Poverty Action GroupAlice Woudhuysen (London Campaign Manager)
FCN-thumbnailFarming Community NetworkCharles Smith (Chief Executive)
fsb-thumbnailFederation of Small BusinessesDavid Webb (Rural Chair)
lep-network-thumbnailLocal Enterprise PartnershipsTim Jones (South West LEP)
first-thumbnail-webFirstGroup plcJohn Birtwistle (Head of Policy UK Bus)
LGiU-re-smallLocal Government Information UnitDr Jonathan Carr-West (C.E.O)
locality-thumbnailLocalityTony Armstrong (Chief Executive)
outstanding natural beauty-thumbnailNational Association For Areas of Outstanding Natural BeautyRichard Clarke (National Policy & Development Manager)
NALC-thumbnailNational Association of Local CouncilsJonathan Owen, Chief Executive
nfu-thumbnailNational Farmers UnionSuzanne Clear (Senior Planning & Rural Affairs Advisor)
NFYFC-thumbnailNational Federation of Young Farmers’ ClubsSarah Palmer, Agricultural Officer
national-trust-thumbnailNational TrustPatrick Begg, Director
NF-of-WI-thumbnailNational Federation of Womens InstitutesOliver Hicks – Pattison (Research & Campaigns Co-Ordinator)
National Parks England-thumbnailNational Parks EnglandAmanda Brace (Policy Officer)
navca-re-thumbnailNAVCANeil Cleeveley (Chief Executive)
plunkett-foundation-re-thumbnailPlunkett FoundationPeter Couchman (Chief Executive)
Prince's Countryside Fund-thumbnailPrince’s Countryside FundHelen Aldis, Manager
rics-thumbnailRoyal Institution of Chartered SurveyorsJeremy Blackburn, Head of Policy
rural-group-citizens-advice-thumbnailRural Issues Group of the Citizens Advice BureauJane Mordue, Chair of Group
rsnlogoRural Services NetworkDavid Inman (Director)
tcpa-thumbnailTown and Country Planning AssociationTrevor Cherrett (Rural Adviser)
University of CumbriaAlison Marshall and Caroline Rouncefield
University of PlymouthIan Sherriff
uk-youth-thumbnailUK YouthGeorgina Fung, National Programmes Manager
wire-thumbnailWomen in Rural EnterprisePolly Gibb (Policy Director)
* Click on the Stakeholders logo to see their individual rural insight (if one has been provided).


The current Chairman of the Stakeholders is:
Margaret Clark-thumbnailMargaret Clark CBE(Former Director of the Commission for Rural Communities)
The current Vice-chairman of the Stakeholders is:
richard-quallingtonRichard Quallington(Acting Chief Executive - ACRE)
Those formerly Involved With The Commission for Rural Communities:
Sheena-Asthana-thumbnail-reProfessor Sheena Asthana(Former Commissioner)
Alison McLean RE thumbnailAlison Mclean OBE(Former Commissioner)
sue-prince-re-thumbnailSue Prince OBE, DL(Former Commissioner)
Mark Shucksmith-thumbnailProfessor Mark Shucksmith OBE(Former Commissioner)
Michael Winter-thumbnailProfessor Michael Winter OBE(Former Commissioner)
Previous Chairman of the Countryside Agency:
lord-dillington-thumnailLord Cameron of Dillington(Former Chairman)
* Click on the Stakeholders picture to learn more about them (if further information has been provided).


Meeting and Minutes for the Stakeholder Group Meetings

Rural England MeetingRural England Meeting 1

The key meetings of the company take place on the four occasions a year the Stakeholders come together with the Directors. These are in February, June, November and December. The Stakeholders meet to monitor and input into the research programme. Coming from a variety of perspectives they will bring their rural experiences to bear. They also assist the Directors in mapping the general direction of the Company.

The 2018 Meetings of the Rural England Stakeholders Group will take place on the:
– 5th February
– 4th June
– 5th November (AGM plus joint meeting with UKRPPRG)

To view the minutes of previous meetings click here